Alchemist - General game info
Alchemist
2-4 players, 50-60 minutes, 10 years and older
AuthorCarlo A. Rossi
IllustratorVolkan Baga
Published byAMIGO Spiel + Freizeit GmbH
Online since 2009-09-05
Developed byAlexandra (brujita)
Boardgamegeek27385
Yucata.de owns a license for the online version of this game. A big "thank you" to the copyright owners (publisher and/or author and illustrator) who make it possible to have this game for free online here!
Note: This online implementation uses slightly changed rules!
Alchemist - Rules

Rule changes when playing on yucata.de

You can choose to play without schools when creating an invitation.
The number of players is limited to 4.

Game Summary

“Double, double, toil and trouble! Fire burn and cauldron bubble!” (Macbeth, Act 4, Scene 1)

It is the contest of alchemists! The most talented Adepts of the mystical art come from around the world to compete. They fill their cauldrons with exotic and rare ingredients, thereby creating new potions in the quest of fame and honor. In addition to demonstrating their talents by replicating their competitors’ potions, each has a secret goal: to promote the use of the ingredient his/her own school of magic values the most! The person who brings most fame to his/her school and to himself/herself will be elected Supreme Adept!

Game Setup

Place the game board (with the potion compendium and the fame track) in the middle of the table. Put the potion value tiles and the scoring chips next to the board. Select a color and take the 6 seals and the player screen of your color. Place one of your seals on the 0 space of the fame (scoring) track, and the other 5 in front of your screen.

The oracle bag needs to be filled before the game begins. Depending on the number of players, find the quantity of each ingredient that will be used for the game in the table below. Place the ingredients for the reserve next to the board (sorted by type), and fill the bag according to the table.

Number
of Players
Number of Each
Ingredient in Bag
Number of Each
Color in Reserve
Number of Each
Color Removed
2 6 10 16
3 10 12 10
4 12 16 4
5 14 18 0

Randomly select 12 ingredients from the bag and put them behind your screen without revealing them to your competitors. Each player starts with 12 randomly selected ingredients. The remaining ingredients in the oracle bag will be used during the game.

Give each Adept a randomly selected school ingredient card and keep it hidden from the other players. The starting player is chosen by any of the ancient customs and rituals the group of Adepts has learned during their years of training, or the oldest player may go first. (Alternatively, the person who most recently used a “recipe” may go first.)

Each school of magic considers one ingredient especially powerful. The adapt representing that school tries to use it himself/herself  and encourage its use by the others as much as possible, because it will give him bonus points at the end of the game.

Game Play

The starting Adept begins. Play the proceeds clockwise around the table. On his/her turn, he/she must choose one of three actions:

  • Create a new potion
  • Copy an existing potion
  • Take ingredients

After completing his/her action, the next Adept takes his/her turn.

Note: If there are only 2 Adepts playing, he/she MUST create a new potion of value 5 or higher as his/her first action (see below).

Creating a New Potion

You create a new potion by choosing the type and quantity of ingredients for that potion and by recording the recipe in the Compendium. Choose an empty cauldron and mark it with one of your seals on the round field.

Take 1 to 5 ingredients (your choice) from your personal reserve and put them on the square fields of the cauldron. You have to meet the following requirements:

  • You may not copy an existing recipe from the Compendium
  • You may not use any ingredient more than twice in the same recipe
  • You may not use an ingredient that the recipe will produce as by-product (for example, you cannot use any yellow ingredients in a recipe that produces a yellow ingredient).

Select a potion value tile from the value tiles remaining next to the game board, and place it on the field between the ingredients above the cauldron. You then advance your seal on the fame track equal to the potion value you selected. In addition, you receive the ingredients (by-products) that the potion produces as shown above the cauldron from the ingredient reserve next to the game board.

Note: Towards the end of the game, you may create a recipe that produces an ingredient that is no longer in the ingredient reserve. If this happens, you do not get that ingredient (or ingredients, if both are used up).

Example: Abigail (purple) would like to create a new potion recipe. She takes one of her seals and places it on an open cauldron. Since this cauldron produces a yellow and a green ingredient, no yellow and/or green ingredients may be used. She decides to use 5 ingredients: 2 blue, 2 gray and 1 orange. Since this is a very complicated recipe, she selects the potion value tile 9 and places it on the cauldron. Abigail now gets 9 points. She also takes a yellow and a green ingredient from the ingredient reserve.

Copying an Existing Potion

If you choose to copy a potion already in the Compendium, you CANNOT select a potion YOU have created. You may only use a potion recipe that another player has created! (The seal above the cauldron indicates who has created that potion.) Take the exact mix of ingredients displayed in the cauldron from your reserve behind your screen and remove all except one from the game (they are NOT returned to the ingredient supply). As tribute to the Adept who created that recipe, you give him the one ingredient that is not removed from the game. You choose one from the ingredients used in the recipe.

You score as many points as the potion is worth - as indicated by the potion value tile. Move your seal on the fame track accordingly. In addition, you take the ingredients shown above the cauldron from the ingredient supply and place them behind your screen.

Example: Merlin would like to use the potion that Abigail just created. He takes 2 blue, 2 gray and 1 orange ingredient from his personal reserve and puts them in front of his screen. Merlin selects one of the gray ingredients and gives it to Abigail, who puts it behind her screen. The remaining ingredients are removed from the game. For this alchemic performance Merlin gets 9 fame points and 1 yellow and 1 green ingredient, which he puts behind his screen.

Taking Ingredients

If you decide to take ingredients, you may either take any 1 ingredient from the ingredient reserve or 2 random ingredients from the bag. If the bag is empty, you may only take 1 ingredient of your choice from the reserve.

Game End and Victory

The game ends when 2 or fewer ingredient types remain in the ingredient reserve. The round is completed so that each player has the same number of turns.

You now reveal the ingredients you still have behind your screen, and score 1 fame point for every 2 ingredients (rounded down).

Finally, the success you had in promoting your school’s ingredient is examined. Place all ingredients that were behind the screens or in the oracle bag back into the ingredient reserve. Now count how many of each ingredient remain in the ingredient reserve (do NOT count ingredients in the Compendium). The Adept with the school ingredient card matching the ingredient of which there are the LEAST remaining gets the first-place school award and the fame points shown in the table below. The second-place award goes to the Adept holding the school ingredient card corresponding to the next-lowest ingredient number, and so on.

Depending on the number of Adepts competing, the following fame points are awarded:

# of
Players
School Award for the Least Ingredients Remaining
  1st (least) 2nd 3rd 4th 5th
2 6 0      
3 10 5 0    
4 12 8 4 0  
5 12 9 6 3 0

If a particular school ingredient card was not used for the game, do not rank that ingredient for the purpose of the final scoring. Only rank active ingredients.

The winner is the Adept with the most fame points. If two Adepts are tied, the Adept with the higher school ranking wins!

Additional Notes

  • Remember that you cannot copy potion recipes that you created yourself.
  • Creating many potions may limit the number of potions you can score points with later!
  • If you have no seals remaining you cannot create any more potion recipes.
 
 
deutsch english

Alchemist - Allgemeine Spielinformationen
Alchemist
2-4 Spieler, 50-60 Minuten, ab 10 Jahren
AutorCarlo A. Rossi
GraphikerVolkan Baga
Veröffentlicht vonAMIGO Spiel + Freizeit GmbH
Online seit 2009-09-05
Entwickelt vonAlexandra (brujita)
Boardgamegeek27385
Yucata.de hat eine Lizenz für die Onlineversion dieses Spiels. Ein großes Dankeschön geht an die Rechteinhaber (Autor und/oder Verlag und Graphiker), die es möglich machen, dass dieses Spiel kostenlos hier gespielt werden kann.
Achtung: Die Onlineimplementierung verwendet leicht geänderte Regeln!
Alchemist - Regeln

Regeländerungen für das Spiel bei yucata.de

Bei Erstellung der Einladung kann angegeben werden, ob ohne Verwendung (und Abrechnung) von Schulen gespielt werden soll.
Die Anzahl der Spieler ist auf maximal 4 begrenzt

Anlass und Ziel

„Doppelt plagt euch, mengt und mischt! Kessel brodelt, Feuer zischt.“ (Macbeth, 4. Akt, 1. Szene)

Beim Wettstreit der Alchemisten füllen die talentiertesten Adepten dieser mystischen Kunst ihre Kessel mit absonderlichen Ingredienzien, um mit neuen und mächtigen Tränken Ehre und Ruhm zu ernten.Doch auch wer die Rezeptur eines Konkurrenten erfolgreich zu kopieren vermag, kann Ruhmespunkte sammeln. Schließlich verfolgt auch noch jeder Teilnehmer ein persönliches, verborgenes Ziel: die Komponente, die seiner Schule als besonders mächtig und wertvoll erscheint, der größtmöglichen Verwendung zuzuführen.Wer durch geschickten Einsatz seiner Ingredienzien die meisten Ruhmespunkte sammelt, geht aus dem Wettstreit als Sieger hervor und darf sich fortan Adeptus Supremus nennen.

Vorbereitungen

Das Kompendium wird in die Mitte des Tisches gelegt, daneben die Ruhmesplättchen und die Insignien. Jeder Teilnehmer wählt eine Farbe aus und nimmt sich die 6 Siegelsteine und den Sichtschirm in dieser Farbe. Einen seiner Siegelsteine stellt er auf die 0 der Ruhmesleiste, die restlichen 5 vor seinen Sichtschirm.

Sodann muss der Orakelbeutel mit Ingredienzien gefüllt und der allgemeine Vorrat (eine bestimmte Anzahl Ingredienzien) neben dem Kompendium bereitgelegt werden. Folgende Tabelle zeigt an, wie die Ingredienzien je nach Anzahl der am Wettstreit teilnehmenden Adepten verteilt werden.

Teilnehmende
Adepten
Ingredienzien je
Farbe im Beutel
Ingredienzien je
Farbe im Vorrat
Ingredienzien je
Farbe aus dem Spiel
2 6 10 16
3 10 12 10
4 12 16 4
5 14 18 0

Nachdem die Ingredienzien verteilt worden sind, zieht jeder Teilnehmer 12 Ingredienzien geheim aus dem Orakelbeutel und legt diese hinter seinen Sichtschirm in seinen persönlichen Vorrat. Die übrigen Ingredienzien im Orakelbeutel werden für das weitere Spiel noch benötigt.

Jeder Adept zieht nun verdeckt eine Schule, die er für die Dauer des Wettstreits vertritt. Dem alten Brauch gemäß wird der Teilnehmer, der den Wettstreit eröffnet, entweder durch das Los bestimmt, oder diese Ehre fällt dem jüngsten unter den Adepten zu.

Hinweis zu den Schulen: Jede Schule erachtet eine Ingredienz als besonders mächtig und versucht daher dafür zu sorgen, dass diese Ingredienz möglichst häufig in den gebrauten Rezepturen verwendet wird. Dies trägt den Spielern am Schluss des Wettstreits zusätzliche Ruhmespunkte ein.

Ablauf des Wettstreits

Der für die Eröffnung ausgewählte Adept beginnt, danach kommen im Uhrzeigersinn reihum die Mitstreiter zum Zuge. Der Adept, der an der Reihe ist, hat drei Möglichkeiten:

Er muss entweder

  •  eine neue Rezeptur entwerfen oder
  •  eine bestehende Rezeptur kopieren oder
  •  passen.

Danach ist der nächste Adept an der Reihe.

Eine neue Rezeptur entwerfen

Will ein Adept eine neue Rezeptur entwerfen, bestimmt er selbst die Menge und Zusammenstellung der Ingredienzien des gebrauten Tranks und trägt die Rezeptur in das Kompendium ein. Er wählt einen leeren Kessel aus und markiert ihn mit einem seiner Siegelsteine auf dem runden Feld.

Dann nimmt er zwischen 1 und 5 Ingredienzien aus seinem persönlichen Vorrat und legt sie auf die quadratischen Felder des Kessels. Für die Auswahl der Ingredienzien gibt es drei Einschränkungen.

  • Die oberhalb des Kessels abgebildeten Ingredienzien dürfen nicht verwendet werden.
  • Eine Ingredienz darf nicht häufiger als zweimal verwendet werden.
  • Die gleiche Rezeptur darf nicht bereits im Kompendium eingetragen sein.

Anschließend wählt er ein Ruhmesplättchen aus, das noch neben dem Kompendium liegt, und legt es zwischen die beiden abgebildeten Ingredienzien des Kessels. Er darf seinen Siegelstein auf der Ruhmesleiste sofort um so viele Felder vorrücken, wie die Zahl auf den Ruhmesplättchen angibt.Zusätzlich erhält er je 1 der als Nebenprodukte entstehenden Ingredienzien, die über dem Kessel abgebildet sind, aus dem offenen Vorrat.

Hinweis: Gegen Ende des Wettstreits kann es vorkommen, dass eine Ingredienz nicht mehr im offenen Vorrat liegt. In einem solchen Fall bekommt man diese Ingredienz nicht. Im schlimmsten Fall geht man ganz leer aus.

Beispiel: Abigail (spielt Violet) möchte einen neuen Zaubertrank brauen und setzt zu diesem Zweck einen ihrer Siegelsteine auf einen freien Kessel. Da dieser Kessel Spinnen (Gelb) und Schlangengift (Grün) als Nebenprodukte abwirft, darf als Ingredienz kein gelber bzw. grüner Ingredienzienstein verwendet werden. Sie entscheidet sich für 5 Ingredienzien: 2 blaue, 2 graue und 1 orange Ingredienz. Da dies eine sehr aufwändige Rezeptur ist, wählt sie das Ruhmesplättchen mit der Zahl „9“, legt es über den Kessel und bekommt 9 Punkte. Anschließend darf sich Abigail noch eine gelbe und eine grüne Ingredienz aus dem offenen Vorrat nehmen.

Eine bestehende Rezeptur kopieren

Will der Adept die Rezeptur eines bereits im Kompendium vermerkten Tranks kopieren, muss er einen schon gebrauten Zaubertrank auswählen, den er NICHT selbst entworfen hat (der im Kompendium also nicht mit einem seiner Siegelsteine markiert ist). Der Adept nimmt die erforderliche Kombination von Ingredienzien, also die genaue Anzahl und Farben an Ingredienzien, die schon auf dem Kessel liegen, aus seinem persönlichen Vorrat, und diese werden alle bis auf eine aus dem Spiel genommen. Die von ihm ausgewählte übrige Zutat bekommt der Adept, der diese Rezeptur entworfen hat, als Tribut.

Für diesen Vorgang bekommt er so viele Punkte, wie das Ruhmesplättchen über dem Kessel anzeigt, und zusätzlich die beiden über dem Kessel abgedruckten Ingredienzien, die er wieder hinter seinen Sichtschutz legt.

Beispiel: Merlin (spielt Weiß) möchte den Zaubertrank, den Abigail gerade entworfen hat, kopieren. Er nimmt 2 blaue, 2 graue und 1 orange Ingredienz aus seinem persönlichen Vorrat und nimmt alle bis auf eine graue Ingredienz aus dem Spiel. Diese Ingredienz bekommt Abigail für ihren persönlichen Vorrat. Für diese Leistung bekommt Merlin 9 Ruhmespunkte, außerdem 1 gelbe und 1 grüne Ingredienz, die er hinter seinen Sichtschirm legt.

Passen

Sollte der Adept sich entscheiden zu passen, darf er 1 beliebige Ingredienz aus dem offenen Vorrat nehmen, oder 2 Ingredienzien aus dem Beutel ziehen. Sollte der Beutel leer sein, darf er nur Ersteres tun.

Ende des Wettstreits und Schlusswertung

Der Wettstreit endet, sobald nach einer Spielrunde (also bevor der erste Adept wieder am Zug ist) im offenen Vorrat 3 oder mehr Ingredienzien-Sorten aufgebraucht sind.

Jeder Adept bekommt jetzt noch 1 Punkt für je 2 Ingredienzien, die er noch hinter seinem Sichtschirm hat.

Anschließend wird der Erfolg der Schulen überprüft.Hierzu legen alle Adepten ihre verbliebenen Ingredienzien in den offenen Vorrat. Nun wird gezählt, von welcher Ingredienz am wenigsten übrig ist. Die Schule, deren favorisierte Ingredienz dies war, belegt den Rang I. Die Ingredienz, von der am zweitwenigsten übrig ist, belegt den Rang II usw. Ist von zwei Ingredienzien gleich viel übrig, belegen die betreffenden Schulen denselben Rang. Bei der weiteren Wertung wird kein Rang ausgelassen. Je nach Anzahl der am Wettstreit teilnehmenden Adepten bekommen die Vertreter der erfolgreichen Schulen zusätzliche Ruhmespunkte, wie in der folgenden Tabelle angegeben:

Anzahl
Adepten
Rang
  I II III IV V
2 6 0      
3 10 5 0    
4 12 8 4 0  
5 12 9 6 3 0

Schulen, die keine Vertreter im Wettstreit hatten, belegen auch keinen Rang (sprich: die betreffenden Ingredienzien werden beim Zählen ignoriert).

Gewonnen hat der Adept, der nach dem Verteilen dieser zusätzlichen Ruhmespunkte die meisten Punkte hat. Sollten zwei Adepten die gleiche Punktzahl haben, gewinnt derjenige, dessen Schule den besseren Rang belegt hat.

Erläuterungen

  • Falls ein Adept keinen Siegelstein mehr vor seinem Sichtschirm hat, kann er keinen neuen Zaubertrank brauen
  • Beim Spiel mit 2 Adepten ist es in der ersten Runde Pflicht, eine neue Rezeptur zu entwerfen, welche mindestens den Wert 5 hat.
 
Datenschutzerklärung | Impressum | FAQ YSZ: 00:00:00 |
 
deutsch english