What is an avatar?
Beispielavatar

Avatars are small pictures which are associated with a player. Yucata.de is showing these pictures in many locations: the player list, player info, discussion board, in popups, the page header and so on. Normally, avatars have a high recognition value.

How does it work with avatars on yucata.de?
Identicon MonsterID Wavatar Retro

Yucata doesn't allow you uploading your own picture. Instead, yucata.de is relying on the service of Gravatar. You can register with Gravatar and then associate a picture with your email address. For players who didn't register with Gravatar, there are several algorithms like identicon, monsterid, wavatar or retro to generate a picture based on the mail address. The examples have been generated for the address guest@yucata.de

If you are not a Gravatar user you may choose in your profile here on yucata.de which algorithm shall be used to generate an avatar for you. If you don't like any of these pictures you can try to alter the capitalization of your email address. Every changed character will change the picture.

The special thing about Gravatar is that many discussion boards and blogs are using it. So, you register once with Gravatar and from then on you'll have your picture in many places on the web as long as you use the same email address.

What about my privacy?

You might have some privacy concerns when using Gravatar. When you registered with them you took a choice but what about all the yucata players who are not members of Gravatar and still get images generated by Gravatar based on their email address? Is yucata.de distributing personal information?

No, it doesn't. Yucata doesn't send your email address to Gravatar but a so-called 'hash' of your email address. We are using a certain cryptographic algorithm to generate this hash. This algorithm is transforming 'guest@yucata.de' to '010ef7e2cb4d30206ddbb7f396be7812'. The algorithm is constructed in a way that it is irreversible. If you have the hash, you can't find out at all what it was generated from. Already small changes to the email address lead to completely different hashes. This addresses the biggest privacy concern.

But still, if you are not registering with Gravatar but are using many places on the web with the same email address, a program might be able to find all these places by using an image search. If you then publish personal information in one place, that program might be able to build a profile of your web usage. It is up to you if you consider this a really risk or a breach of privacy.

One workaround is to use the same email address but to capitalize it differently on different sites. Using only the hash values, nobody is able to tell that 'guest@yucata.de' and 'guest@YUcata.de' are the same mail addresses.

Yavatar

But you can also completely opt out of the system. Yucata is offering a standard avatar. That is a picture on our servers. If you choose this option, nothing will be sent to Gravatar at all.

 
Privacy statement | Editorial | FAQ YST: 00:00:00 |
 
deutsch english

Was sind Avatare?
Beispielavatar

Avatare sind kleine Bildchen, die mit einem Spieler assoziiert sind. Yucata.de zeigt dieses Bild an diversen Stellen: In der Spielerliste, der Spielerinfo, im Forum und an diversen anderen Stellen. Avatare haben meist einen hohen Wiedererkennungswert.

Wie funktionieren Avatare bei Yucata.de?
Identicon MonsterID Wavatar Retro

Bei Yucata kann man sich kein Bild selbst hochladen. Stattdessen verwendet Yucata den Service von Gravatar. Bei Gravatar kann sich jeder kostenlos registrieren und dort ein Bild mit seiner E-Mail-Adresse assoziieren. Für die Spieler, die nicht Gravatar-Mitglied sind, gibt es die Möglichkeit ein generisches Bild generieren zu lassen. Dafür gibt es verschiedene Algorithmen wie Identicon, MonsterID, Wavatar oder Retro. Die Beispiele sind für die E-Mail-Adresse "guest@yucata.de" erstellt worden.

Falls Du kein Bild bei Gravatar hinterlegt hast, kannst Du Dir in Deinem Profil aussuchen, welches Bildchen Du gerne hättest. Wenn Dir keines Deiner Bilder gefällt, kannst Du probieren, einzelne Zeichen Deiner Mailadresse groß zu schreiben.

Das besondere bei Gravatar ist, dass es von vielen Seiten, insbesondere Foren und Blogs verwendet wird. Du kannst also einmal ein Bild dort einstellen und überall, wo Du die gleiche E-Mail-Adresse verwendest, wird automatisch das gleiche Bild verwendet.

Und wie ist das mit dem Datenschutz?

Bei der Verwendung von Gravatar kann man durchaus einige Datenschutzbedenken haben. Wer sich bei Gravatar registriert hat, hat eine bewusste Entscheidung getroffen, aber es werden ja auch Avatare für alle anderen Spieler angezeigt. Verteilt yucata.de meine Mailadresse im Netz?

Nein, yucata.de gibt die Mailadresse an niemanden weiter. Was Yucata an Gravatar schickt, ist ein sogenannter 'Hash' der E-Mail-Adresse. Dafür wird ein bestimmtes kryptographisches Verfahren verwendet. So wird aus 'guest@yucata.de' der Wert '010ef7e2cb4d30206ddbb7f396be7812'. Es ist dieser Wert, der an Gravatar geschickt wird, nicht die E-Mail-Adresse. Das verwendete Verfahren ist so ausgelegt, dass es irreversibel ist. Gravatar kann also nicht auf die E-Mail-Adresse zurückschließen. Damit sind die größten Sicherheitsbedenken aus der Welt.

Wenn ich mich nun nicht bei Gravatar registriere, aber mit meiner Mailadresse in vielen Foren und Blogs aktiv bin, dann könnte es trotzdem Programme geben, die ein Profil über mich erstellen. Zumindest wäre es über eine Bildersuche möglich, herauszufinden wo ich mich überall so rumtreibe. Und wenn ich auch nur an einer Stelle persönliche Daten angegeben habe, dann lassen sich vielleicht doch Dinge zu einem Profil verknüpfen. Wie groß diese Gefahr ist und als wie relevant man das einschätzt, muss jeder für sich selbst beurteilen.

Eine Möglichkeit, diese Profilbildung zu unterbinden besteht in einer ungewöhnlichen Schreibweise der E-Mail-Adresse. Der Hash-Wert ändert sich bei Groß-/Kleinschreibung. Niemand kann anhand des Hash-Wertes feststellen, dass guest@yucata.de und guest@YUcata.de die gleichen Mailadressen sind.

Yavatar

Yucata.de gibt aber auch die Möglichkeit, sich komplett aus dem Gravatar-System zu verabschieden. Dafür bietet Yucata einen Standard-Avatar an. Dies ist ein Bild auf unseren Servern. Wer diese Option wählt, dessen E-Mail-Hash wird nicht an Gravatar geschickt.

 
Datenschutzerklärung | Impressum | FAQ YSZ: 00:00:00 |
 
deutsch english