Mystic Vale - General game info
Mystic Vale
2-4 players, 45-60 minutes, 14 years and older
AuthorJohn D. Clair (JohnDClair)
Published byAlderac Entertainment Group
Pegasus
Online since 2018-03-03
Developed by (BloodyMary)
Boardgamegeek194607
Yucata.de owns a license for the online version of this game. A big "thank you" to the copyright owners (publisher and/or author and illustrator) who make it possible to have this game for free online here!
Note: This online implementation uses slightly changed rules!
Mystic Vale - Rules
If you are reading these rules for the first time, ignore the text along the right hand side. These rules serve as a summary to help you quickly familiarize yourself with the game.

Show → summary only → detailed version only → both summary and detailed version

Mystic Vale

On Yucata the following deviations from the rules apply:

  • In the German rules a player has the option to prematurely stop the Prepare Phase if he has cards with more than 2 . This possibility does not exist in the English Rules and it is not implemented on Yucata.
  • In the German rules during the Harvest Phase a player has the option to exchange any 3 spirit symbols for 1 . This possibility does not exist in the English rules, but is implemented on Yucata.
  • In the German rules the game ends also if the last Level 2 vale card is put into the commons during a Discard phase. This game end condition does not exist in the English Rules, but is implemented on Yucata.
  • For the vale card Aether Tree (Expansion 1) the description says "any card in your field", but the accompanying example refers to the on-deck card which in a strict sense is not part of the field. The rules have been amended to clarify that the ability applies to any card in the field or the on-deck card.

Introduction

Centuries ago, a dying, wicked king pleaded for help from the druids of Gaia. Knowing that to heal him would only bring more suffering, the druids refused.
Infuriated, with his final breath the king pronounced a dire curse that desolated the fertile Valley of Life. Empowered by the dark ruler’s spiteful vengeance, the king’s spell spread pestilence and blight over the land. The Valley of Life had been sacred to Gaia, a birthplace for vital spirits of nature. These spirits cried out for aid as the land slowly withered. Worse still, some of the spirits grew corrupt and twisted by the blight. Left unchecked, this corruption would consume every spirit in the valley and irrevocably destroy a portion of Gaia’s power forever.
In response, the Druid Council dispatched druids into the valley to restore its verdant beauty. Gaia herself blessed this mission, and the spirits welcomed the druids’ much-needed assistance. Into the cursed valley the druids came, prepared to nurture and heal the land with their life-giving powers. The spirits pledged to ally with the druids and bring forth new life into the valley’s glens and groves. Although Gaia’s blessings beget life, the cursed blight fights back, and careless druids may be thwarted by its evil and falter on their mission. Attempting to restore too much, too quickly can backfire and impede the road to recovery. To remove the desecration and return the Valley of Life to nature’s bounty will require courage and caution in equal measure.

Game Overview

Players take on the role of druidic clans attempting to restore the cursed lands to their former vitality. The cards in your deck represent the parts of the valley that you are tasked with revitalizing, and each advancement you add to the cards represents new life and vitality you have brought to that land. Your power is tied to the land, and as more life grows in your valleys and groves, so too does your power, and with it the spirits of nature to revive the miraculous vales.
Each turn you play cards into your field to gain powerful advancements and valuable vale cards. But you must be careful not to overuse your power or it will result in decay and end your turn. During the game you will be able to build up your cards by adding powerful advancements. Crafting your cards with advancements and buying vale cards at the right time will help you bring back the most miraculous portion of the Mystic Vale to life, and to achieve victory!

Goal

The player with the most #vpsymbol (victory points) at the end of the game wins.

Contents

Game Components - Setup - Card Anatomy
How to Play
1) Planting Phase - Spoiling
2) Harvest Phase – Resolve Harvest Abilities - Score VP – Buy Vale Cards – Buy Advancements
3) Discard Phase – Sleeve Advancements – Replenish Vales – Replenish Advancements
4) Prep Phase
End of the Game
Additional Rules – Mana Token – Guardian Symbol – Wild Spirit Symbol – On-deck Card – Using Abilities – Planting Your Field – Open and Hidden Information – Decay – Card vs. Advancement
Card Clarifications - Advancements Base Game - Advancements Expansion 1 - Vales Base Game - Vales Expansion 1 - Druidic Clans

Game Components
Your game of Mystic Vale should include the following. If it does not, contact customerservice@alderac.com for assistance.

Base game:
80 Starting cards divided into 4 identical decks consisting of:
– Beastbrothers deck (20 cards)
– Dawnseekers deck (20 cards)
– Lifewardens deck (20 cards)
– Waveguards deck (20 cards)
96 Advancements consisting of:
– 33 Level 1
– 30 Level 2
– 33 Level 3
18Fertile Soil advancements
36 Vale Cards consisting of:
– 18 Level 1
– 18 Level 2
4Reference cards
441-point VP tokens
105-point VP tokens
4Mana tokens
100card sleeves (20 of the sleeves are extra in case replacements are required)
1Rulebook
Expansion 1 - Vale of Magic:
54 Advancements consisting of:
– 18 Level 1
– 21 Level 2
– 15 Level 3
18 Vale Cards consisting of:
– 9 Level 1
– 9 Level 2
1Rulebook

For the First Game
Before playing the first game, each starting card should be placed in a clear plastic sleeve. Once placed, starting cards should remain in the sleeves since there is no purpose in the game to remove them. Vale cards are not sleeved. Also note that the game includes 20 additional plastic sleeves in case replacements are required.
We also recommend that new players take a reference card in order to review the phases during their turn.

Playing with the Vale of Magic expansion
If you're playing with the expansion, simply shuffle the new advancements and vale cards into their corresponding decks. Then follow the standard setup rules for the base game. There are no new rules required to play with the Vale of Magic expansion.

Setup

1. Player Decks

Each player should shuffle their deck and place it face down in front of them.

1. Player Decks

Each player takes a deck of 20 sleeved starting cards (cards belonging to a specific deck are denoted by their card back). Each player’s deck should have 9 Cursed Land, 3 Fertile Soil, and 8 blank cards. Each player should shuffle their deck and place it face down in front of them.

2. The Commons

Take out all the Fertile Soil advancements and place them in a separate deck. Separate all the other advancements into decks denoted by their level symbols.

Shuffle all of the level 1 advancements and count out a number of advancements into a deck based on the number of players:

  • players – count out 12 advancements.
  • players – count out 15 advancements.
  • players – count out 18 advancements.
Then turn over the first 3 advancements of the level 1, 2 and 3 deck .

2. The Commons

The commons is a set of 9 advancements available to buy during the game in the center of the table. To set this up, you first take out all the Fertile Soil advancements and place them in a separate deck. Then separate all the other advancements into decks denoted by their level symbols (see "Card Anatomy").

Level 1 Advancements:

Shuffle all of the level 1 advancements together. Then count out a number of advancements into a deck face down and put the rest back in the box. The number of advancements in the deck is based on the number of players in the game, which is listed below:

  • 2 players – count out 12 advancements and leave the rest in the box.
  • 3 players – count out 15 advancements and leave the rest in the box.
  • 4 players – count out 18 advancements and leave the rest in the box.
Then turn over the first 3 advancements of the deck as shown in the setup diagram.

Level 2 Advancements:

Use all of the level 2 advancements, then turn over the first 3 advancements of the deck.

Level 3 Advancements:

Use all of the level 3 advancements, then turn over the first 3 advancements of the deck.

3. Vale Cards

Shuffle both vale decks, then turn over 4 cards face up from each deck.

3. Vale Cards

Separate the vale cards into a level 1 deck and a level 2 deck. Shuffle the level 1 deck and turn over 4 cards face up, then do the same with the level 2 deck.

4. Setup VP Tokens

Place the #vpsymbol tokens in a pool based on the number of players:

  • 2 players: 23 #vpsymbol
  • 3 players: 28 #vpsymbol
  • 4 players: 33 #vpsymbol

4. Setup VP Tokens

Place the #vpsymbol tokens in a pool based on the number of players:

  • 2 players – count out 23 #vpsymbol and leave the rest in the box.
  • 3 players – count out 28 #vpsymbol and leave the rest in the box.
  • 4 players – count out 33 #vpsymbol and leave the rest in the box.

5. Setup Fields

Each player makes their starting field until they have two Cursed Lands in their field and a third one on-deck.

5. Setup Fields

During the game you will always have 20 cards. Your cards will be in one of four locations: your deck, your field, your discard pile, and you will have one on-deck card. During setup, players will create their starting field and on-deck card.

Each player makes their starting field using the following steps:

  1. Shuffle your 20 card deck and place it face down in front of you.
  2. Turn over the top card of your deck and place it back on top of your deck face up. This is your on-deck card.
  3. Place your on-deck card in your play area, creating the start of your field, then turn over a new on-deck card.
  4. Repeat step C until you have two Cursed Lands in your field and a third one on-deck.

6. Determine Starting Player

Place the #manatoken tokens so that their active side is face up and shuffle them. Each player takes one token at random and turns it over so the spent side is face up. The player with the starting player symbol will be the starting player for this game.

6. Determine Starting Player

Take a number of #manatoken (mana) tokens equal to the number of players and be sure to include the token with the starting player symbol.
Place the #manatoken tokens so that their active side is face up and shuffle them. Each player takes one token at random and turns it over so the spent side is face up. The player with the starting player symbol will be the starting player for this game.

Players are now ready to begin the game!




Players are now ready to begin the game!

Card Anatomy

Card Anatomy
Each advancement exists in three versions, one each with picture in the top, middle and bottom area of the card.

The level of each advancement is indicated by the number of pips below its cost. The border on the top and bottom of the advancement also indicates its level as shown below.

Card Anatomy 3

How To Play

The starting player takes the first turn of the game.

When a player finishes their Discard Phase, the next player clockwise around the table takes a turn. Players continue taking turns until the end of the game.

Taking a Turn

Taking a Turn

Take the following phases in order.

When a player is taking a turn, they are considered the active player. During your turn, you must take the following phases in order:

  1. Planting Phase
  2. Harvest Phase
  3. Discard Phase
  4. Prep Phase

1) Planting Phase

1) Planting Phase

Resolve the following steps:
  1. You must choose to either pass or push. If you pass, skip immediately to your Harvest Phase.
  2. If you chose to push, place your on-deck card into your field, to the right of any previously played card. Resolve "When Played" abilities on that card (if any), then turn over the top card of your deck and place it back on top of your deck face up as your new on-deck card.
  3. Determine if you have Spoiled.
  4. If you have not Spoiled, go back to step A and repeat.

You resolve your Planting Phase using the following steps:

  1. You must choose to either pass or push. If you pass, skip immediately to your Harvest Phase.
  2. If you chose to push, place your on-deck card into your field, to the right of any previously played card. Resolve "When Played" abilities on that card (if any), then turn over the top card of your deck and place it back on top of your deck face up as your new on-deck card.
  3. Determine if you have Spoiled.
  4. If you have not Spoiled, go back to step A and repeat.

In this manner, you continue until you either pass or Spoil. Whenever your deck is empty and you need to reveal a new on-deck card, shuffle your discard pile; it becomes your draw deck. If all of your cards are in your field, then you must pass.

Spoiling

Some cards have #decaysymbol (decay) symbols on the left side of the card.

#decaysymbol If at any time during your Planting Phase or Prep Phase you have 4 or more #decaysymbol revealed, then you Spoil. #decaysymbol are counted on cards in your field as well as your on-deck card. When you Spoil, you immediately skip your Harvest Phase and jump straight to your Discard Phase. You also turn over your #manatoken token to the active side as a consolation for Spoiling.

Some cards have #growthsymbol (growth) symbols on the left side of the card.

#growthsymbol Each #growthsymbol you have revealed in your field, your on-deck card, and from any other abilities cancels 1 #decaysymbol. Meaning, for example, if you have 1 #growthsymbol, then you Spoil only if you have 5 #decaysymbol revealed instead of the normal 4.

2) Harvest Phase

2) Harvest Phase

If you chose to end your Planting Phase before Spoiling, you now complete your Harvest Phase (again, only if you did not Spoil).

Count up your #manatoken and spirit symbols (#spiritAnimal, #spiritForest, #spiritSky, #spiritWild), resolve "Harvest" abilities on cards in your field, score #vpsymbol, buy vale cards, and buy advancements.
All of this can be done in any order.

If you chose to end your Planting Phase before Spoiling, you now complete your Harvest Phase (again, only if you did not Spoil).

The Harvest Phase is when you count up your #manatoken and spirit symbols (#spiritAnimal, #spiritForest, #spiritSky, #spiritWild), resolve "Harvest" abilities on cards in your field, score #vpsymbol, buy vale cards, and buy advancements.

All of this can be done in any order.

You could for example buy an advancement, then resolve a "Harvest" ability on one of your cards, then buy a vale card, then buy another advancement.

Turn Tip

While you may resolve your various actions during the Harvest Phase in any order you wish, we recommend that you generally follow the order below so that your resources and abilities are easier to manage:

  1. Count up your #manatoken and spirit symbols.
  2. Resolve "Harvest" abilities on cards in your field.
  3. Score #vpsymbol.
  4. Buy vale cards.
  5. Buy advancements.

Resolve Harvest Abilities

You must resolve "Harvest" abilities on cards in your field (do not count your on-deck card) unless it specifically states otherwise. However, you may use the ability at any time during your Harvest Phase.

Each "Harvest" ability on an advancement can only be used once each Harvest Phase.

Score VP

Any card in your field (do not count your on-deck card) showing a #vpsymbol (victory point) symbol on the left side of the card means that you must gain that many #vpsymbol tokens from the pool.

Important: You do not gain #vpsymbol tokens from gray #vpgraysymbol symbols on the right side of cards. Vale cards and advancements with a gray #vpgraysymbol symbol on the right side of the card are added to your #vpsymbol total at the end of the game (see "End of the Game").

Buy Vale Cards

You will not be able to buy vale cards for your first few turns since you need to have spirit symbols and none of your starting cards have any. There are 4 spirit symbols in the game:

#spiritAnimal #spiritForest #spiritSky #spiritWild
Animal
Spirit
Forest
Spirit
Sky
Spirit
Wild
Spirit

You will put these symbols on your cards by adding advancements. If you have the right spirit symbols on the cards in your field (do not count your on-deck card) to match one of the eight revealed vale cards, then you may buy that card.

You may buy up to two vale cards per turn. When you buy a vale card, place it face up in your play area.

A symbol used to buy one vale card may not be used to buy another. For example, if you want to buy two different vale cards and they each have an #spiritAnimal in their cost, then you must have two different #spiritAnimal symbols in your field.

Some vale cards feature an ability that you can use during the turns after you buy the card. Vale cards with a gray #vpgraysymbol symbol on the right side of the card add to your #vpsymbol total at the end of the game.

If a vale card shows a #spiritAny in its cost, you may use any spirit symbol to pay that cost.

Important: Abilities on vale cards may not be used during the turn that you buy them.

Tip: In order to help track which vale cards you have used during your turn, you can simply rotate them 90 degrees. When you buy a vale card, immediately rotate it to indicate that you cannot use the card during this turn. At the end of your turn, rotate all of your used vale cards counterclockwise so they are ready to use next turn.


Exchange surplus spirit symbols into VP: If after buying vale cards you have unused spirit symbols left on your cards or advancements, you are allowed to exchange them 3 spirit symbols into 1 #vpsymbol.
Important: For this exchange you use #vpsymbol tokens from the reserve in the box, not from the limited supply!

#exbuyvc

Buy Advancements

With the #manatoken you have in your field (do not count your on-deck card) you may buy up to two advancements per turn, which includes Fertile Soil and any of the 9 advancements available in the commons. The cost of each advancement is shown in the top right of each advancement. When buying a Fertile Soil, you may buy any one you want.

If your #manatoken token is on the active side, you may spend it by turning the token over to the spent side. You then gain 1 additional #manatoken to spend during that Harvest Phase.

Any #manatoken that you did not spend is lost at the end of your Harvest Phase. However, if you choose not to spend your active #manatoken token it will remain active for your next turn.

Advancements that you buy are not sleeved until your Discard Phase. Abilities and symbols on advancements that are not sleeved cannot be used.

Note: You are not allowed to buy an advancement if you do not have a legal place to sleeve it on a card in your field.

#exbuyupg

3) Discard Phase

3) Discard Phase

Sleeve each advancement you bought (if any), then replenish vale cards and advancements in the commons.

The next player may now begin their turn.

You must first sleeve each advancement you bought during your Harvest Phase (if any), then replenish vale cards and advancements in the commons.

Sleeve Advancements

For each advancement you bought, choose a card in your field (you cannot choose your on-deck card) and sleeve the advancement on the card.

You may not sleeve an advancement if it will cover another advancement already on the card (including advancements on starting cards). There is one exception to this rule. Some advancements have abilities that run long-wise down the card. You may sleeve an advancement such that one long-wise ability is covering another long-wise ability. Whichever ability gets covered is no longer active and is ignored.

Tip: Avoid crafting a card with 2 or more #decaysymbol.

After your advancements are sleeved (if any), put all cards in your field off to the side in your own personal discard pile face down. Don’t discard your on-deck card.

Replenish Vales

Replace any vale cards you bought by drawing vale cards from the top of the respective deck. If the deck of level 1 vale cards runs out, replace bought level 1 vale cards with cards from the level 2 deck.

Replenish Advancements

Any advancements you bought from the commons are replaced with new advancements of the same level from the top of the corresponding deck(s). If the deck of level 1 advancements runs out, replace bought level 1 advancements with advancements from the level 2 deck. Likewise if the level 2 deck runs out and you need to replace a level 2 advancement, instead replace it with a level 3 advancement.

The next player may now begin their turn.

4) Prep Phase

4) Prep Phase

While your opponent is beginning their turn, prep your field until you have three or more #decaysymbol showing (in your field and your on-deck card).

While your opponent is beginning their turn, you can now prep your field. Play your on-deck card as the first card in your new field and resolve "When Played" abilities on that card (if any). Then turn over the top card of your deck, as a new on-deck card. Continue to place your on-deck card into your field, to the right of any previously played card and resolve any "When Played" abilities, until you have three or more #decaysymbol showing (in your field and your on-deck card). Most often this will be 2 #decaysymbol in your field and 1 #decaysymbol on-deck.

If your field has 2 #decaysymbol and your on-deck card shows an additional 2 or more #decaysymbol, you automatically Spoil and must skip your Harvest Phase next turn and jump straight to your Discard Phase. You also turn over your #manatoken token to the active side as a consolation for Spoiling. As general advice, avoid crafting a card with 2 or more #decaysymbol.

When you have 3 or more #decaysymbol showing, your field is prepped for your next turn.

Note: If a player deems it important, they may wait until the previous player has finished their Prep Phase before starting their own Planting Phase.

End of the Game

End of the Game

When the #vpsymbol tokens in the pool run out, or the last Level 2 vale card is put into the commons during a Discard phase, finish playing the current round so that each player gets an equal number of turns, then the game ends.

Count your #vpsymbol.

The player with the most total points is the winner. If two or more players are tied, the player with the most combined level 3 advancements and level 2 vale cards is the winner. If there is still a tie, then players share the win.

The game may end in two possible scenarios:

A) When the #vpsymbol tokens in the pool run out, finish playing the current round so that each player gets an equal number of turns, then the game ends. If #vpsymbol tokens in the pool run out and a player would still gain #vpsymbol, take them from the tokens that were left in the box.

B) When the last Level 2 vale card is put into the commons during a Discard phase, finish playing the current round so that each player gets an equal number of turns, then the game ends.

Should the vale cards not be worth any VP #vpsymbol anymore, players can of course exchange all their spirit symbols 3:1 into #vpsymbol which are taken from the tokens that were left in the box.

Players now count their points.

You may have accumulated #vpsymbol tokens from cards that give you tokens each time you play them.

Some advancements are worth points at the end of the game, which is indicated by the gray #vpgraysymbol symbol on the right side of the card. You should go through all of your cards and count up all the #vpgraysymbol you have on advancements.

Many vale cards are also worth points at the end of the game, which is indicated by the gray #vpgraysymbol symbol on the right side of the card.

The player with the most total points is the winner. If two or more players are tied, the player with the most combined level 3 advancements and level 2 vale cards is the winner. If there is still a tie, then players share the win.

#exfinscore
Additional Rules

This section covers additional explanations beyond the basic rules required to play.

Mana Token

You may only spend your active #manatoken token during your Harvest Phase.

If you choose not to spend your active #manatoken token, it will remain active for your next turns until you spend it.

If your #manatoken token is already active and you Spoil, the #manatoken token remains active but you don’t receive any other reward.

Guardian Symbol

#guardiansymbol Some cards have one or more #guardiansymbol (guardian symbol).
These symbols have no effect unless an ability on a card references them.

Wild Spirit Symbol

The #spiritWild (wild spirit symbol) is considered any of the spirit symbols: #spiritAnimal, #spiritForest, #spiritSky, #spiritWild.

If a vale card shows a #spiritAny in its cost, you may use any spirit symbol to pay that cost.

If a card or ability gives you a #spiritWild, you may use it to pay for any spirit symbol on a vale card’s cost.

On-deck Card

Your on-deck card is not considered to be in your deck or in your field. Abilities that reference your deck, like "search your deck", do not include your on-deck card.

The only symbols that count on your on-deck card are #decaysymbol and #growthsymbol symbols. You must play the card into your field to get any other symbols on the card.

"Harvest" and "When Played" abilities cannot be used on your on-deck card. "Ongoing" abilities however, continually affect the card even when it is your on-deck card.

Using Abilities

If an ability specifically contradicts the rules, the ability takes precedence.

Each ability on an advancement or vale card can only be used once per turn unless it specifically states otherwise.

Most abilities list when they can be used at the start of their text, like "Harvest" or "When Played" for example, otherwise the ability describes when it can be used. If two or more abilities would resolve at the same time, like two "Harvest" abilities for example, the active player chooses the order they are resolved.

"When Played" abilities are resolved when they are played into your field, before revealing a new on-deck card; they are not resolved when they are revealed as your on-deck card.

"Harvest" abilities in your field are resolved during your Harvest Phase; they are not resolved while they are your on-deck card.

"Ongoing" abilities continually affect the card whether that card is on-deck, in your field, in your discard pile, or in your deck. These effects have no trigger, as they are always active.


With the Vale of Magic expansion, there are two more types of abilities:

"Discard" abilities are resolved during your Discard Phase.

"When Bought" abilities are resolved the moment the card is bought and then can be ignored for the rest of the game.

Planting Your Field

New cards that are added into your field must always be placed to the right of any cards previously placed in your field. The cards are designed such that those without text effects can be overlapped and only the left half of each card needs to be seen. Try not to overlap cards with "Ongoing" or "Harvest" abilities, or you may miss them.

Open and Hidden Information

You may not look at any cards in a deck unless an ability allows you to do so.

You may always look at any cards in your own discard pile. You may not look at cards in other players’ discard piles unless an ability allows you to do so.

When you gain #vpsymbol tokens they are placed in your play area and are open information to all players.

Decay

You can only Spoil during your Planting Phase and Prep Phase. If you have 4 or more #decaysymbol revealed during your Harvest Phase or Discard Phase, you do not Spoil and there is no effect.

Card vs. Advancement

A card is comprised of everything in its sleeve, including the starting card itself and any advancements that are placed in the sleeve.

An advancement is one of the three "slots" that make up a card; advancements are not counted as individual cards. Advancements that are printed on starting cards are still considered an advancement in regards to rules and abilities. The "blank" starting card is not considered an advancement.

Card Clarifications

This section covers additional explanations for advancements and vale cards that may be referenced during play.

Advancements

Aurora

Aurora This is a "Harvest" ability, meaning if it’s in your field, it resolves during your Harvest Phase. You cannot resolve this ability if you Spoil. Count up the number of cards in your field (don’t count your on-deck card). A "card" means everything in a single sleeve - advancements are not counted as individual cards.

For every 2 cards, rounded down, gain 1 #vpsymbol. For example, if there 9 cards in your field, you gain 4 #vpsymbol.

Calm Weather

Calm Weather Calm Weather
This is a "When Played" ability, meaning it resolves when it goes from being your on-deck card to being placed into your field. It resolves before you turn over your next on-deck card. This ability means you look at the top card of your deck (which is about to be your on-deck card). Then either discard it or put it back on top of your deck. Regardless, you then turn over a new on-deck card.

Cleansing Rain

Cleansing Rain This is a "When Played" ability, meaning it resolves when it goes from being your on-deck card to being placed into your field. It resolves before you turn over your next on-deck card. Search your deck for any card and you may put it into your discard pile (you’ll probably want to choose a Cursed Land), then shuffle your deck (don’t shuffle your discard pile into your deck) and reveal your next on-deck card. If you choose not to discard the card, you must still shuffle your deck.

If Cleansing Rain was the bottom card of your deck, such that when you play it there are no cards in your deck, first shuffle your discard pile to create a new deck, then resolve Cleansing Rain’s ability.

Dawnsinger

Dawnsinger This is a "Harvest" ability, meaning if it’s in your field, it resolves during your Harvest Phase. You cannot resolve this ability if you Spoil. For each #guardiansymbol on the card, including the #guardiansymbol on Dawnsinger plus any other #guardiansymbol on advancements also in the same sleeve, you get 1 additional #manatoken to spend this turn. For example, if Dawnsinger and Stag were sleeved together on the same card, Dawnsinger would give you 3 #manatoken during your Harvest Phase.

Deadwood Harvester

Deadwood Harvester Deadwood Harvester
This is a "When Played" ability, meaning it resolves when it goes from being your on-deck card to being placed into your field. It resolves before you turn over your next on-deck card. This ability means you may discard any other card which was already placed in your field (typically a Cursed Land). If Deadwood Harvester is the first card placed into your field its effect does nothing.

Earthchant Chorus

Earthchant Chorus During your Harvest Phase (when you buy advancements), if Earthchant Chorus is on a card in your field and that card has one or two open slots to sleeve a new advancement, you may declare that you are purchasing an advancement that will be sleeved on the same card as Earthchant Chorus (it must be able to fit an open slot on the card). If you do, that advancement costs 2 less #manatoken to buy (to a minimum of zero), and during your Discard Phase you must sleeve it where you said you would. Note that during the turn you buy and sleeve Earthchant Chorus its effect is not active and should be ignored.

This ability is considered as ongoing ability and therefore may be used more than once per turn.

Feral Chieftain

Feral Chieftain This is a "Harvest" ability, meaning if it’s in your field, it resolves during your Harvest Phase. You cannot resolve this ability if you Spoil. For each #guardiansymbol on the card, including the #guardiansymbol on Feral Chieftain plus any other #guardiansymbol on advancements also in the same sleeve, you get 1 #vpsymbol. For example, if Feral Chieftain and Stag were sleeved together on the same card, Feral Chieftain would give you 3 #vpsymbol during your Harvest Phase.

Gaia’s Chosen

Gaia’s Chosen Gaia’s Chosen
This is an effect that only matters when counting total points at the end of the game. The advancement gives you 2 end of the game #vpgraysymbol as normal, but it also gives you an additional 1 #vpgraysymbol for every #spiritWild, #spiritAnimal, #spiritForest, #spiritSky, #guardiansymbol, #decaysymbol, #growthsymbol and #manatoken on the card. However, these are only counted after ignoring text effects.

For example, if Gaia’s Chosen is sleeved together on the same card as both Stag and Dawnsinger, this ability would give you 6 #vpgraysymbol (3 for the #guardiansymbol, 2 for the #spiritAnimal and #spiritSky, and 1 for the #decaysymbol, but 0 from Dawnsinger’s ability because text effects are ignored).

For example, if Gaia’s Chosen is sleeved together on the same card as both Stag and Lifebringer Seed, this ability would give you 4 #vpgraysymbol (2 for the #guardiansymbol, 1 for the #spiritAnimal, and 1 for the #decaysymbol. Even though Lifebringer Seed has an "Ongoing" ability that cancels the #decaysymbol, Gaia's Chosen specifically says to ignore text effects, so the #decaysymbol is still worth 1 #vpgraysymbol).

Grassland

Grassland While Grassland is in your field during your Harvest Phase, when you count up the #manatoken you get from symbols on cards and abilities, you must subtract 1 #manatoken from the total. If you do not have any #manatoken to lose due to the Grassland’s ability, there is no effect.

Grovetender

Grovetender This is an "Ongoing" ability, meaning if Grovetender is sleeved on a card, thereafter, whether that card is on-deck, in your field, in your discard pile, or in your deck, Grovetender’s ability is in effect. For each #guardiansymbol on the card (#guardiansymbol on advancements in the same sleeve), Grovetender is considered to have +1 #growthsymbol. For example, if Grovetender and Stag were sleeved together on the same card, Grovetender would be considered to have 2 #growthsymbol. You still, of course, only get these #growthsymbol while Grovetender is in your field or on-deck.

Lifebringer Seed

Lifebringer Seed This is an "Ongoing" ability, meaning if Lifebringer Seed is sleeved on a card, thereafter, whether that card is on-deck, in your field, in your discard pile, or in your deck, it is considered to have no #decaysymbol on it.

Magic Seed

Magic Seed Magic Seed
This is a "Harvest" ability, meaning if it’s in your field, it resolves during your Harvest Phase. You cannot resolve this ability if you Spoil. Count up the number of other cards in your field (don’t count your on-deck card or the card that Magic Seed is sleeved on). You gain that much additional #manatoken to spend this turn.

Mindful Owl

Mindful Owl Mindful Owl
This is a "When Played" ability, meaning it resolves when it goes from being your on-deck card to being placed into your field. It resolves before you turn over your next on-deck card. This ability means you may discard any other card which was already placed in your field (typically a Cursed Land). If Mindful Owl is the first card placed into your field, then its effect does nothing.

Peacekeeper Druid

Peacekeeper Druid If Peacekeeper Druid is in your field, its ability is available for use during your Planting Phase (or, more rarely, your Prep Phase). During your Planting Phase, if you push and the new on-deck card you reveal would result in you Spoiling, instead of Spoiling, you may use Peacekeeper Druid’s ability and discard your current on-deck card. Then reveal a new on-deck card.

You may not use the ability more than once during your turn. For example, if you were to Spoil but you use Peacekeeper Druid’s ability to discard your on-deck card and reveal a new on-deck card, which also results in you Spoiling, then too bad, you Spoil anyway.

In the rare case of Spoiling during your Prep Phase, if Peacekeeper Druid is in your field, you may use its ability once then as well, but then you cannot use the ability again during your next Planting Phase.

Seedling

Seedling This is an "Ongoing" ability, meaning if Seedling is sleeved on a card, thereafter, whether that card is on-deck, in your field, in your discard pile, or in your deck, that card is considered to have no more than 1 #decaysymbol on it. For example, if Seedling is sleeved on a Cursed Soil with no other advancement, its ability effectively does nothing. However, if you also sleeve an advancement with #decaysymbol on it on the same card, like Hulking Thornhide, then Seedling’s ability cancel’s the second #decaysymbol so the card is considered to have only 1 #decaysymbol on it.

Woodland Warden

Woodland Warden This is a "Harvest" ability, meaning if it’s in your field, it resolves during your Harvest Phase. You cannot resolve this ability if you Spoil. For each #guardiansymbol on the card, including the #guardiansymbol on Woodland Warden plus any other #guardiansymbol on advancements also in the same sleeve, you get 2 #vpsymbol. For example, if Woodland Warden and Stag were sleeved together on the same card, Woodland Warden would give you 6 #vpsymbol during your Harvest Phase.

Advancements Expansion 1

Canopy Explorer

Canopy Explorer Canopy Explorer
This is a "Harvest" ability, meaning, if it’s in your field, it resolves during your Harvest Phase. You cannot resolve this ability if you Spoil. For each #guardiansymbol on this card you may take the top card of your deck (this is the first face down card beneath your current on-deck card), and place it face up into your field as the rightmost card. So for example, if there were 2 #guardiansymbol on the card, you would take the top 2 cards that are face down beneath your on-deck card and place them at the end of your field (you must take exactly 2 cards).

Note: You only resolve this effect during your Harvest Phase, meaning you’ve already passed and cannot Spoil. If this effect causes you to have more than 3 #decaysymbol, you don’t Spoil; just continue your Harvest Phase as normal.

Likewise, "When Played" effects and #growthsymbol are only beneficial during your Planting and Prep Phase, and if placed into your field via Canopy Explorer, are useless.

If you don’t have enough cards in your deck to fully resolve this effect, shuffle your discard pile and it becomes your deck, then complete the effect.

Goldenwing Gryphon

Goldenwing Gryphon This is a "When Played" ability, meaning it resolves when it goes from being your on-deck card to being placed in your field. If your #manatoken token is face down (the token you turn face up when you Spoil) you may now turn it face up so the active side is revealed.

Hatchery

Hatchery This is a "Discard" ability, meaning it triggers during your Discard Phase. If Hatchery’s card is the "first" card in your field (i.e. the leftmost card) then you discard it as normal with all the other cards in your field. However, if it is in any position other than first, you may choose to not discard it. In this case, you would discard all the other cards in your field, place Hatchery’s card as the "first" (leftmost) card in your field, then during your Planting Phase, play cards to the right as the second card, third card, fourth card, etc.. This effect essentially allows you, under most circumstances, to keep a card in your field for an extra turn.

If you manage to get two or more cards with Hatchery in your field at the same time, you may choose what order to resolve them in, resulting in one card being in the first spot in your field, and other card in the second spot; meaning the other card will actually get to stay in your field for two extra turns.

Lifetap Oracle

Lifetap Oracle Lifetap Oracle
This is a "When Played" ability, meaning it resolves when it goes from being your on-deck card to being placed in your field. It resolves before you turn over your next on-deck card. For each #guardiansymbol on this card, you search your deck for any card and you may put it into your discard pile (you’ll probably want to choose a Cursed Land), then shuffle the cards in your deck (don’t shuffle your discard pile into your deck) and reveal your next on-deck card. If Lifetap Oracle was the bottom card of your deck, such that when you play it there are no cards in your deck, first shuffle your discard pile to create a new deck, then resolve Lifetap Oracle’s ability.

Ley Line Overflow

Ley Line Overflow This is a "Harvest" ability, meaning, if it’s in your field, it resolves during your Harvest Phase. You cannot resolve this ability if you Spoil. You may resolve Harvest abilities whenever you choose to during your Harvest phase. Typically, this ability you want to resolve last.

For example, you’ll typically want to count up all regular #manatoken (mana) you get from your cards, gain a #manatoken from your token if desired/possible, gain #manatoken from Harvest effects on your cards and your vales. Then, lastly use Ley Line Overflow’s ability to double whatever that total #manatoken was.

If you have multiple Ley Line Overflows, you resolve one after the other. Meaning, for example, with two Ley Line Overflows you would be able to quadruple your total #manatoken.

Sporeling Reclaimer

Sporeling Reclaimer Sporeling Reclaimer
This is an effect that only matters when counting total points at the end of the game. This effect gives you 1 #vpgraysymbol for each #guardiansymbol on cards in your deck. The term "deck" doesn’t mean just the cards remaining in your draw deck at the end of the game, it means all of the advancements you own.

Vales

Ancient Liferoots

Ancient Liferoots You always are considered to have +1 #growthsymbol. If you already have an Ancient Liferoots vale card, you may not gain a second.

Azure Lake

Azure Lake This ability means that every Harvest Phase you gain 1 #manatoken to spend during that Harvest Phase. You cannot use this ability the turn you buy this card.

Blooming Arbor

Blooming Arbor This ability is available for use during your Planting Phase (or, more rarely, your Prep Phase). During your Planting Phase, if you push and the new on-deck card you reveal would result in you Spoiling, then instead of Spoiling, you may discard Blooming Arbor (put it back in the game box and it’s considered out of the game). If you do, you gain 1 #growthsymbol. If that results in you no longer Spoiling, then you now continue your turn as normal by choosing to either pass or push.

In the rare case of Spoiling during your Prep Phase, you may also use Blooming Arbor at that time to gain 1 #growthsymbol until your next Prep Phase.

Cascading Falls

Cascading Falls This ability means that every Harvest Phase you gain 1 #spiritSky to spend during that Harvest Phase. You cannot use this ability the turn you buy this card.

Conclave of Ents

Conclave of Ents This ability means that once every turn, at any time during that turn, you may choose a card in your field or on-deck. That card is considered to have +1 #guardiansymbol on it. For example, if you were about to Spoil and Grovetender was sleeved on your on-deck card, then you may use Conclave of Ents’ ability to temporarily give the Grovetender card +1 #guardiansymbol until the end of your turn, which means Grovetender gains +1 #growthsymbol until the end of your turn and you no longer Spoil.

In the rare case you use Conclave of Ent’s ability during your Prep Phase, the ability stays in effect during your next Planting Phase.

Pool of Light

Pool of Light This ability means that every Harvest Phase you gain 1 #spiritWild to spend during that Harvest Phase. You cannot use this ability the turn you buy this card. The #spiritWild may be used to pay for any spirit symbol on a vale card’s cost.

Radiant Pinnacle

Radiant Pinnacle This ability means that every Harvest Phase you gain 1 #spiritForest to spend during that Harvest Phase. You cannot use this ability the turn you buy this card.

Sunstone Aerie

Sunstone Aerie This ability means that once each turn during your Harvest Phase you may spend 2 #manatoken (meaning you have 2 #manatoken less to buy advancements with) and choose 1 spirit symbol (#spiritAnimal, #spiritForest, #spiritSky) you have available to spend and treat it as though it were a #spiritWild (wild spirit symbol) until the end of your turn. For example, if you wanted to buy a Ley Line Nexus which costs 1 #spiritSky and 1 #spiritForest, but you only have 1 #spiritAnimal and 1 #spiritForest, you may use this ability to treat the #spiritAnimal as a #spiritWild and buy the Ley Line Nexus with a #spiritWild and a #spiritForest. You cannot use this ability the turn you buy this card.

Stream of Vigor

Stream of Vigor This ability means that every Harvest Phase you gain 2 #manatoken to spend during that Harvest Phase. In addition, you are now limited to buying 0 to 3 advancements each turn instead of 0 to 2. You cannot use this ability the turn you buy this card.
If you have both vale cards of that kind you may still only buy up to 3 advancements per turn.

Talonthorn Den

Talonthorn Den This ability means that every Harvest Phase you gain 1 #spiritAnimal to spend during that Harvest Phase. You cannot use this ability the turn you buy this card.

Vales Expansion 1

Aether Tree

Aether Tree This ability is available for use during your Planting Phase (or, more rarely, your Prep Phase). During your Planting Phase, if you "push", and the new on-deck card you reveal would result in you Spoiling, instead of Spoiling, you may discard Aether Tree (put it back in the game box and it’s considered out of the game).

If you do, choose a card in your field or the on-deck card; all #decaysymbol on that card, other than #decaysymbol from a Cursed Land, is canceled. If that results in you no longer Spoiling, then you now continue your turn as normal by choosing to either pass or push. In the rare case of Spoiling during your Prep Phase, you may also use Aether Tree at that time to cancel #decaysymbol until your next Prep Phase.

If you discard your Aether Tree, you also lose the 1 #vpgraysymbol.

Example: It’s your Planting Phase and you have just Spoiled! Your on-deck card has 2 #decaysymbol on it, 1 #decaysymbol from a Cursed Land, and 1 #decaysymbol from a different advancement. You may discard Aether Tree to cancel the second #decaysymbol that is not from the Cursed land (that #decaysymbol is now canceled until your next Prep Phase). If this prevented you from Spoiling, then you continue your current Planting Phase as normal by choosing to pass or push.

Amberwood, Direwolf Burrow, Shimmercliff Rookery

Amberwood Direwolf Burrow Shimmercliff Rookery These three vale cards share a "When Bought" effect, meaning it triggers the moment the card is bought and then can be ignored for the rest of the game. If your #manatoken token is face down (the token you turn face up when you Spoil) you may now turn it face up so the active side is revealed.

Note: You may turn your #manatoken token face down to gain a #manatoken at any point during your Harvest Phase. For example, you may turn your #manatoken token face down and gain 1 #manatoken, then buy Amberwood, Direwolf Burrow or Shimmercliff Rookery and turn the token face up again. Finally, turn your #manatoken token back to face down and gain a second #manatoken.

Earth Cradle

Earth Cradle This is a "When Bought" effect, meaning it triggers the moment the card is bought and then can be ignored for the rest of the game. Gain 1 #vpsymbol for each vale you own. That includes Earth Cradle and any other vale you may have bought this turn. The #vpsymbol are taken from the counted out VP pool.

Fauna Hollow

Fauna Hollow This is a "When Bought" effect, meaning it triggers the moment the card is bought and then can be ignored for the rest of the game. You gain an extra 2 #manatoken to spend this turn on buying advancements (or resolving other effects if possible).

Manadew Meadow

Manadew Meadow This ability means that once every Harvest Phase you may choose 1 card in your field. For each #guardiansymbol on that card you may gain 1 #manatoken.

Roost

Roost This ability means that once every Harvest Phase you may spend 2 #manatoken to gain 1 #vpsymbol which is taken from the counted out VP pool. This mana no longer is available to buy advancements or resolving other effects.

Sunwell Temple

Sunwell Temple This is a "When Bought" effect, meaning it triggers the moment the card is bought and then can be ignored for the rest of the game. Take the top card of the level 1 vale deck and add it to the vales you own. If the card has a text effect, you may not use the effect this turn. If the card has a "When Bought" effect, you do not gain the benefit.

Vale of Magic

Vale of Magic This ability means that once every Harvest Phase you must gain 1 #vpsymbol which is taken from the counted out VP pool.

Wood Sprite Hoard

Wood Sprite Hoard This is a "When Bought" effect, meaning it triggers the moment the card is bought and then can be ignored for the rest of the game. Look at the top three face down cards of your deck (your on-deck card is not considered part of your deck so it is not one of the three cards). You may put any of those three cards into your discard pile. The rest should be put back, face down, in the same order you drew them.

Note if there are only 0, 1 or 2 cards left in your deck, look at all of them, and discard any of your choice.

Druidic Clans

There are many druidic clans devoted to nurturing and guarding the Valley of Life. Each clan focuses on a certain aspect based on the primal forces of nature. This aspect shapes the clan’s rituals, which grants them different powers and blessings from Gaia. When the spirits of nature cried out for aid, the Druid Council first sent the four most prominent clans: Beastbrothers, Lifewardens, Dawnseekers, and Waveguards.

Beastbrothers

Beastbrothers

Druids belonging to the circle of animals are called Beastbrothers. These druids form lasting bonds with all forms of animal life. Beastbrothers are often considered barbaric, preferring to lair in caves and dark forests. Beastbrothers honor and respect the ways of animals, including the nature of predator and prey.

Lifewardens

Lifewardens

Some druids join a circle dedicated to plant life, the power of growth, and harmony of nature. These druids are known as Lifewardens. They are gardeners and caretakers, nurturing life that comes from the earth. Plants, trees, farms, and gardens are where they roam. Lifewardens catalogue every plant they encounter, memorizing the uses of herbs, roots, and other growing things, making them excellent healers.

Dawnseekers

Dawnseekers

The light of the sun marks the passage of the seasons, and druids who venerate this process are known as Dawnseekers. This circle of druids mark the calendar, preferring to make their homes amongst the plains and savannas where the sun is clearly seen throughout the day. Dawnseekers rise early, hence their name, though some amongst their number prefer to remain awake until midnight to mark the end of another day.

Waveguards

Waveguards

Wherever the rivers flow, you can find druids who honor the rushing waters. These druids are sometimes called Waveguards, and they travel along stony riverbeds, frost-lined coasts, and into the icy mountains. Waveguards understand the majesty and power of water like no others, able to divine weather patterns from a single drop of rain and predict the tides with uncanny accuracy.

List of advancements
Each advancement exists in three versions, one each with picture in the top, middle and bottom area of the card.





List of valecards

Base: Level 1

1 1 1 2 2 2 3 3 3

Base: Level 2

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 2 2 2 2 2 1

Expansion 1: Level 1

2 1 1 2 2 1

Expansion 1: Level 2

1 2 1 2 1 2
The starting player has the Mana token with the star .
The first row of the player info of each player contains some useful views.
If you click on the single card back , the whole deck of that player is shown. For the player himself these cards are marked at the top: with a blank card if the card is the current on-deck card or is part of the field and with a card back in case the card is currently discarded.
If you click on the symbol for the field view , the current player area of that player is shown in the bottom of the screen. The number on the left card denotes the number of cards in the draw pile (incl. on-deck card) and the number on the right card denotes the current number of cards in the player's discard pile.
If you click on the vale card back , the vale cards of that player are shown. The ability of vale cards bought this turn are not available, so those cards are shown turned around 90° and are given as +X in the number of cards. Vale cards whose ability has already been used have a small red cross on their ability. That only affects abilities you explicitly have to chose using.
The second player info row shows the values for the current field of that player. Ongoing abilities of advancements and vale cards are always automatically included and shown.
The list of the player's spirit symbols contains, apart from the symbols , , and , another symbol , which you can also find as cost on the vale cards. Here it is shown how many unspecified symbols you already used during your Harvest Phase, so you don't have to decide at the time of paying which of your symbols you'll use for the unspecified cost.
If you want to calculate your currently available spirit symbols, you have to deduct the number beside that symbol.

Vale cards whose ability is not used automatically you can choose as soon as the ability becomes usable. In this case a clickable card back will be shown beside the vale card display. If you click this, you get a popup where you can choose the respective vale card.

Specifically the usage of the "Conclave of Ents" is only offered if the field has actually been spoiled.

Advancements whose ability is not used automatically you can choose as soon as the ability becomes usable. In this case the usable ability will be shown with a red frame.
To prevent clicks which cannot be undone, you usually need 2 clicks to play your on-deck card during your Planting Phase: one click to play the on-deck card and another one to reveal the next one in the stack.
Usually the Prep Phase is executed automatically. But if there are usable abilities (usually "When Played" abilities), you explicitly have to click on the deck to reveal the next card. This enables you to undo use of the ability.
Therefore you always have to conclude the Prep Phase explicitly with the "Finish Turn" button.
Usually in the bottom of the window the playing area of the player currently on turn is shown, so you can easily follow what that player is currently doing.
If you want to look at your own (or a different player's) field instead without being disturbed by the current player's actions, you can freeze the current field view with the pin in the upper right corner of the field.
Usually you have to click on your deck to reveal the next on-deck card. But the player on turn may perform this action automatically with 3 or less decay in his display. To accomplish this, just activate the checkbox below the draw pile ( < 3 ).
Attention: If you have cards with 2 or more active decay, this option may cause your field to be spoiled. In that case it is better to un-check that option.
Vale of Magic expansion:
As usual, abilities are used automatically if no choice is needed by the player:
For the vale card Manadew Meadow, the card in the field with the most guardian symbols is chosen automatically as target; Conclave of Ents is being considered in that choice.
Amberwood, Direwolf Burrow and Shimmercliff Rookery:
In case the player's mana token is face down, it is turned face up. If it is face up already, the system assumes that the mana token is turned face down first before buying the vale card, and adds the appropriate amount of mana to the mana pool before turning it face up again.
Sunwell Temple:
Since the additional vale card is not available in the same turn, it is shown turned around 90° as any other just bought vale card.
Wood Sprite Hoard:
The revealed and not discarded cards are marked in the deck overview. The symbol is a card's backside with a number which shows the order of the card in the remaining deck.
Aether Tree + Seedling
If the Aether Tree is used on a card with a Seedling, it is assumed that the Seedling first cancels all decay from Cursed Lands and the last decay left is one from another advancement, if such exists, which could then be cancelled by the Aether Tree.
The Hatchery cannot be used in the same turn in which it was bought, despite it being a Discard Ability. This was clarified by the Author on bgg.

Possible settings:

show animations: device dependent, standard: checked
If this option is checked your browser will animate all actions.
Pin playing area when opening window: device dependent, standard: unchecked
This option will check the pin to freeze the field view to a player.
Planting phase: Reveal on-deck card automatically with less than 3 decay: device dependent, standard: unchecked
With this one checked the option for automatically revealing cards in planting phase with less than 3 decay on display will be checked.
 
Privacy statement | Editorial | FAQ YST: 00:00:00 |
 
deutsch english